360 days after they're deleted new users can get your old e-mail
Some are complaining that Microsoft didn't do enough to notify users of Outlook.com that their e-mail addresses could be recycled if the account is left inactive. Microsoft says in its Service Agreement that users have to sign in at least every 270 days or the account can be canceled.
What Microsoft wasn't clear about is that after those accounts have been deleted, 360 days later new users can sign up for the same e-mail addresses. Some privacy advocates claim that opens the previous owners of the e-mail accounts up to the possibility of identity theft.
Yahoo does something very similar but Microsoft is said to be doing this without properly informing users. Microsoft hasn't been keeping this fact a secret as much as simply not going out of its way to inform people that old e-mail addresses are recycled for new users.