Don't Miss: See the first leaked Black Friday 2016 Ad
Based in Los Angeles, California, Snapchat wants to make it perfectly clear that the privacy of users remain paramount in its business – as ever as it was before the latest updates.
The company is reiterating that Snaps and Chats that users send to friends on the network remain secure as private communication, and “are automatically deleted from our servers once we detect that they have been viewed or have expired.”
This however does not stop recipients of Snaps and Chats from saving the messages or keeping them via screenshots. But this does not mean that the company saves the private Snaps or Chats or access them in any way. Snapchat does not also share them with business partners or advertisers, because the messages are automatically deleted from its servers as soon as they are read or expire.
It is true that the Terms of Service of Snapchat empowers it to use the content users create – just as other similar services have such licenses, but Snapchat will only exploit such license for snaps sent to Live Stories to be shown around the world, or replayed or syndicated in any way.
However, users could always restrict Snapchat from using such license by turning on certain choices in their privacy settings within their apps, this mean will make personal messages to friends and others remain truly private.
- To add certain points and languages to terms for in-app purchases. To this end, the firm now sells Replays, and the revised terms would cover some products and services that will soon by introduced to the public.
- To help friends and others find users on Snapchat, by searching for names and other things about the user, and then users can also modify what is shown to searchers.
The company encourages users to familiarize themselves with the community guidelines as well as other documents that tell about the services and rights of the communication service.