ACM Turing Award Goes To A Woman - The First Time In Its History

Posted: Feb 21 2007, 3:05am CST | by , Updated: Aug 11 2010, 1:03am CDT, in News | Other Stuff


ACM Turing Award goes to a Woman - The First Time in its History
/* Story Top Left 2010 300x250, created 7/15/10 */ google_ad_slot = "8340327155";

The Turing Award, first presented in 1966, and named for British mathematician Alan M. Turing, is widely considered the "Nobel Prize in Computing. It carries a nice $100,000 prize.

For the first time in the award's history a woman finally receives the price.
IBM Fellow Emerita Frances Allen received the Turing Award 2006 for her contributions that fundamentally improved the performance of computer programs in solving problems, and accelerated the use of high performance computing.
Mrs. Allen works at the T.J. Watson Research Center. She made fundamental contributions to the theory and practice of program optimization, which translates the users' problem-solving language statements into more efficient sequences of computer instructions. Her contributions also greatly extended earlier work in automatic program parallelization, which enables programs to use multiple processors simultaneously in order to obtain faster results.
More details can be found in this press-release. See also the Frances Allen profile page on the IBM site.
See past Turing Award winners at the ACM Turing award site.

This story may contain affiliate links.


The Author

<a href="/latest_stories/all/all/2" rel="author">Luigi Lugmayr</a>
Luigi Lugmayr () is the founding chief Editor of I4U News and brings over 15 years experience in the technology field to the ever evolving and exciting world of gadgets. He started I4U News back in 2000 and evolved it into vibrant technology magazine.
Luigi can be contacted directly at




comments powered by Disqus