Higgs Boson Founders Win Nobel Prize

Posted: Oct 8 2013, 8:46am CDT | by , Updated: Oct 8 2013, 9:32am CDT, in Other Stuff


This story may contain affiliate links.

Higgs Boson Theory Wins Nobel
Photo Credit: The Nobel Foundation

Higgs Boson theory was proved by 2 physicists last year. UK's Peter Higgs and Belgium's François Englert have won the 2013 Physics Nobel Prize for their discovery of Higgs particle or Higgs boson at CERN.

It is Nobel Prize week. The Nobel Prize committee in Sweden is announcing the 2013 Nobel Prizes. The Nobel Prize for Physics is being announced today. The winners of the 2013 Physics Nobel Prize are Francois Englert and Peter Higgs of the United Kingdom and Belgium respectively. The duo got the Physics Nobel Prize for their research into particle physics and the god particle.

Higgs boson particle was predicted 50 years ago. But the duo of these 2 physicists had discovered the Higgs particle or Higgs boson at CERN. CERN is the Geneva-based European Organization for Nuclear Research.

The Higgs boson theory actually explains that how matter builds and its origins of the universe. According to CSMonitor, Peter Higgs said in a statement released by the University of Edinburgh, "I am overwhelmed to receive this award and thank the Royal Swedish Academy. I hope this recognition of fundamental science will help raise awareness of the value of blue-sky research."

This story may contain affiliate links.


Find rare products online! Get the free Tracker App now.

Download the free Tracker app now to get in-stock alerts on Pomsies, Oculus Go, SNES Classic and more.

Latest News


The Author

<a href="/latest_stories/all/all/20" rel="author">Sumayah Aamir</a>
Sumayah Aamir (Google+) has deep experience in analyzing the latest trends.




comments powered by Disqus