POPULAR MECHANICS Announces The 2013 Breakthrough Award Winners

Posted: Oct 12 2013, 2:30am CDT | by , Updated: Oct 12 2013, 3:45am CDT, in Technology News


This story may contain affiliate links.

POPULAR MECHANICS Announces the 2013 Breakthrough Award Winners

From an exoskeleton for the paralyzed to a squadron of tiny drones, from costly BMW i3 to cheap Rust-Oleum NeverWet liquid repellent, the POPULAR MECHANICS Breakthrough Awards 2013 will honor top 10 innovators and products that change our world.

POPULAR MECHANICS has announced on Friday the winners of its 9th annual Breakthrough Awards in 2 categories: Breakthrough Innovator Awards for those innovators whose inventions will make the world smarter, safer and more efficient; and Breakthrough Product Awards for products that are setting benchmarks in design and engineering today. The exclusive sponsor of Breakthrough Awards 2013 is BASF.

POPULAR MECHANICS is the No. 1-ranked men’s monthly magazine with 9 million curious readers. It also has its own website popularmechanics.com and an award-winning tablet edition too. The magazine is published monthly by Hearst Magazines. The ninth annual POPULAR MECHANICS Breakthrough Awards distinguish winners in fields such as technology, medicine, space exploration, automotive design, and more.

The winners of Breakthrough Awards 2013 will be honored in the November issue of POPULAR MECHANICS. This issue will be available on newsstands on October 15. A full day conference and gala awards ceremony will also be held at Hearst Tower in New York City on October 22 to honor the winners.

James B. Meigs, editor-in-chief of POPULAR MECHANICS, said, “Each year’s recipients are awe-inspiring as they shape our future through life-changing ideas and innovative products. We are excited to recognize this year’s incredible list of visionaries, including Peter Diamandis, and share their breakthroughs that not only capture the imagination, but improve and save lives as well.”

Peter Diamandis is one of this year’s honorees who win the Leadership Award of Breakthrough Innovator. Diamandis is not only a serial entrepreneur but also a physician, engineer. He is best known as the founder of the XPRIZE Foundation, as well as the co-author of the New York Times bestseller Abundance: the Future Is Better than You Think. He is also the co-founder and co-chairman of Planetary Resources, a company that will mine asteroids for raw materials.

Why Diamandis is chosen for Breakthrough Leadership Award? It is because he has transformed the process of innovation, using competitions and cash prizes to jump-start major developments in the aerospace, automotive, environmental technology and life-science fields. He will be honored with this award for his contributions to research and innovation, and his unflagging optimism and belief that humanity’s challenges are surmountable through technology and ingenuity.

Now Peter Diamandis joins the list of previous Breakthrough Leadership Award winners that includes Tesla Motors CEO Elon Musk, film director James Cameron, genomics pioneer J. Craig Venter, humanitarian engineer Amy Smith and CEO of SpaceX.

Breakthrough Innovator Awards are given to these top 10 innovators who have changed the world in 2013.

  1. Breakthrough Leadership Award goes to Peter Diamandis for the XPRIZE Foundation and more ventures.
  2. Second Breakthrough Innovator Award goes to John Grotzinger (Caltech, Jet Propulsion Laboratory), James Erickson (JPL), and teams for their martian chronicler project of Curiosity Mars Science Laboratory.
  3. Third award goes to General Motors' John Capp, Jeremy Salinger, Eric Raphael and team for their highway autopilot project called General Motors Super Cruise.
  4. Breakthrough Next Generation Award goes to 18-year-old Meghan Shea for her no-cost Moringa-Seed Water Filter.
  5. Michael Goldfarb (Vanderbilt University), Ryan Farris (Parker Hannifin Corp.) and team win 5th position on awards list for their electromechanical medical miracle of Indego Exoskeleton for paralyzed people.
  6. Capt. Jaime Engdahl and Don Blottenberger (U.S. Navy); Carl Johnson and Tim Kesecker (Northrop Grumman); and teams win 6th award for Navy's smartest jet X47B. It is the first UAV (unmanned aerial vehicle) to land safely on the deck of an aircraft carrier without a human pilot.
  7. Palmer Luckey (Oculus VR, Inc.) is the 7th winner for reality machine Oculus Rift.
  8. Eight award goes to Glenn Green and Scott Hollister (University of Michigan) for their custom-made lifesaver 3D Printed Tracheal Splint.
  9. Gerald Loeb (University of Southern California), Jeremy Fishel (SynTouch) and team win 9th award for their robotic touch BioTac Sensor.
  10. Vijay Kumar, Shaojie Shen and Matthew Turpin (University of Pennsylvania); Nathan Michael (Carnegie Mellon University); Daniel Mellinger and Alex Kushleyev (KMel Robotics) together win the 10th and last award for their tiny drone squadron called Swarm Micro-UAVs.

Breakthrough Products Awards are given to these top 10 breakthrough products of 2013.

  1. Pebble Watch ($150)
  2. Cub Cadet RZT-S Zero Mower ($4500)
  3. Other Machine Co. Othermill (about $1500)
  4. Seiki 50-Inch 4K TV ($1300)
  5. Thalmic Labs MYO ($149)
  6. MakerBot Digitizer 3D Scanner ($1400)
  7. Boosted Boards Longboard ($1300)
  8. BMW i3 ($42,275)
  9. Xbox One ($499)
  10. Rust-Oleum NeverWet Liquid Repellent ($20)

This story may contain affiliate links.


Find rare products online! Get the free Tracker App now.

Download the free Tracker app now to get in-stock alerts on Pomsies, Oculus Go, SNES Classic and more.

Latest News


The Author

<a href="/latest_stories/all/all/20" rel="author">Sumayah Aamir</a>
Sumayah Aamir (Google+) has deep experience in analyzing the latest trends.




comments powered by Disqus