World Cup Pot Placements Announced

Posted: Dec 4 2013, 7:19am CST | by , Updated: Dec 4 2013, 8:31am CST, in News | Other Stuff

World Cup Pots Announced
Photo Credit: Getty Images

FIFA has announced the teams for each World Cup pot on Tuesday for the 2014 World Cup draw. This will be taking place in Brazil on the coming Friday.

The international football governing body has announced teams for each of the four World Cup pots. This announcement was made in a press conference in Bahia, Brazil yesterday. FIFA has announced the four pots for Friday's draw of the 2014 World Cup.

These 4 World Cup pots are based on the football world rankings of October. World Cup pot #1 is based on seeded countries. Pot #1 includes: Colombia, Brazil, Spain, Germany, Argentina, Belgium, Uruguay and Switzerland.

Pot #2 includes two teams from South America that is Chile and Ecuador and five from Africa. Those from the Dark Continent include: Algeria, Cameroon, Ghana, Nigeria and Ivory Coast.

Pot #3 includes the United States and the other three Concacaf teams of Costa Rica, Honduras and Mexico. Australia and three Asian teams of Iran, Japan and South Korea are also placed in Pot #3.

Pot #4 is based on nine non-seeded European teams including: Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, England, France, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal and Russia. Out of these nine teams, one will be switched to Pot #2 before the draw. During the draw, this switched team will be placed in a group with one of the four South American teams.

Source: NYTimes

This story may contain affiliate links.


Find rare products online! Get the free Tracker App now.

Download the free Tracker app now to get in-stock alerts on Pomsies, Oculus Go, SNES Classic and more.

Latest News


The Author

<a href="/latest_stories/all/all/20" rel="author">Sumayah Aamir</a>
Sumayah Aamir (Google+) has deep experience in analyzing the latest trends.




comments powered by Disqus