RC Buford Named 2013-14 NBA Executive Of The Year

Posted: May 7 2014, 8:42pm CDT | by , in Latest Sports News


This story may contain affiliate links.

RC Buford Named 2013-14 NBA Executive of the Year
Photo credit: Getty Images

San Antonio Spurs general manager RC Buford was named the 2013-14 NBA Executive of the Year on May 7.

San Antonio Spurs general manager RC Buford was named the 2013-14 NBA Executive of the Year on May 7.

The Spurs issued a press release on their official website:

"San Antonio Spurs general manager RC Buford has been named the 2013-14 NBA Executive of the Year, the league announced today.

"Buford assembled a roster this season that featured six players averaging double figures in scoring and eight players averaging 20 or more minutes.

"The Spurs clinched homecourt advantage for the 2014 postseason by virtue of having posted the league's best record at 62-20 (.756). San Antonio was the only team to record 30-plus wins both at home (32-9, .780) and on the road (30-11, .732) and the 2013-14 campaign marked the 15th consecutive season that the Spurs posted 50-plus wins -- an NBA record.

"Of the 16 teams that qualified for this year's playoffs, San Antonio was the lone team with only one Top 10 draft pick on its roster."

Spurs head coach Gregg Popovich gave Buford credit for the team's sustained success throughout the years, per the same update.

"I'm extremely happy for RC Buford to have won this award, which is both absolutely deserved and long overdue.

"His knowledge of the rules, basketball expertise and keen eye for talent have served the Spurs organization well for a very long time. It has been a personal pleasure to be at his side during this period."

For his part, Buford told Jabari Young of The San Antonio Express-News on May 7 it's humbling to win the accolade, but the more important task at hand is to win another NBA title.

"I"m humbled that we've been recognized for this award. It's not why we do what we do. It's a great honor for the group of people who are here and who have been here and an ownership group that has allowed a continuity to build a program that we're proud of.

"To be recognized by your peers as a program that people respect is rewarding. (But) we're not in this to win an award. We're in it to try to win a championship. That's the award we're all hoping for."

Buford garnered nine first-place votes and 58 total points to hold off the Phoenix Suns' Ryan McDonough, who had 47 points, per ESPN. McDonough was the architect of a Suns team that won 48 games and narrowly missed the postseason.

Young stresses the last time a Spurs executive won the award was in the 1977-78 season when then-Spurs owner Angelo Drossos was bestowed the honor. That San Antonio team finished 52-30 but was eliminated in the second round by the then-Washington Bullets.

Buford worked quietly behind the scenes -- he convinced both Manu Ginobili and Tiago Splitter to stay and signed guard Marco Belinelli. Patty Mills also blossomed in his role off the bench this season.

These moves were just some of the reasons why the Spurs finished with the NBA's best record and the top seed in the Western Conference.

Congratulations, RC Buford.

For more of the hottest sports news, log on to Sport Balla today.

This story may contain affiliate links.


Find rare products online! Get the free Tracker App now.

Download the free Tracker app now to get in-stock alerts on Pomsies, Oculus Go, SNES Classic and more.

Latest News


The Author

Poch de la Rosa follows all major U.S. sports: NFL, MLB, NBA, NHL and the NCAA. His favorite teams are the Colts, Braves, Pacers, Sharks and Irish, respectively.




comments powered by Disqus