2014 MLB All-Star Game Lineups Revealed

Posted: Jul 7 2014, 3:11am CDT | by , in Latest Sports News


This story may contain affiliate links.

2014 MLB All-Star Game Lineups Revealed
Photo Credit: Getty Images

Major League Baseball unveiled the list of its 2014 All-Stars on July 6. The 2014 MLB All-Star Game, the game's 85th edition, will be on July 15 at Target Field in Minneapolis, Minn.

Major League Baseball has announced its list of All-Stars for the 2014 All-Star Game.

MLB.com's Paul Hagen also adds there are 25 first-timers. The Oakland Athletics have six representatives to the All-Star Game while the Milwaukee Brewers have four:

"The (Baltimore) Orioles had three voted into the American League starting lineup for this year's All-Star Game at Minnesota's Target Field, while the Brewers paced the National League with two starters and four players overall.

"The Athletics, who have the best record in baseball, placed six players on the roster for the first time since 1975. There were also 25 first-time All-Stars and 24 foreign-born players announced Sunday.

"Baltimore center fielder Adam Jones, designated hitter Nelson Cruz and catcher Matt Wieters will represent the O's after winning at their respective positions in the fan balloting. Wieters is out for the season due to Tommy John elbow surgery and was replaced by Salvador Perez of the (Kansas City) Royals.

"'It says something about our fans,' said Orioles manager Buck Showalter. 'They're doing their part. They did a good job supporting our guys, but you don't get this without national support. It's tough to keep guys like this under the radar, because they're too good. We like the fact that other people around the country are getting something that we already knew.'

"The rest of the AL starters are first baseman Miguel Cabrera (Tigers), second baseman Robinson Cano (Mariners), shortstop Derek Jeter (Yankees), third baseman Josh Donaldson (Athletics) and outfiedlers Mike Trout (Angels) and Jose Bautista (Blue Jays).

"Third baseman Aramis Ramirez and outfielder Carlos Gomez will represent the Brewers, who have the NL's best record. They'll be joined by first baseman Paul Goldschmidt (D-Backs), second baseman Chase Utley (Phillies), shortstop Troy Tulowitzki (Rockies), catcher Yadier Molina (Cardinals) and outfielders Andrew McCutchen (Pirates) and Yasiel Puig (Dodgers).

"AL manager John Farrell and NL manager Mike Matheny will announce the batting orders and starting pitchers before the teams work out the day before July 15 Midsummer Classic. The league that wins will receive home-field advantage in the World Series.

"For his starting pitcher, Farrell can choose from Yu Darvish (Rangers), Max Scherzer (Tigers), Felix Hernandez (Mariners), Masahiro Tanaka (Yankees), Jon Lester (Red Sox), David Price (Rays), Scott Kazmir (Athletics) and Mark Buehrle (Blue Jays). Any starter who pitches Sunday will be honored as an All-Star but won't play.

"The AL relievers announced Sunday are Dean Doolittle (Athletics), Glen Perkins (Twins), Derek Holland (Rangers) and Dellin Betances (Yankees).

"The Dodgers placed two starting pitchers, Clayton Kershaw and Zack Greinke, and the NL also will have starters Madison Bumgarner (Giants), Adam Wainwright (Cardinals), Julio Teheran (Braves), Jordan Zimmermann (Nationals), Johnny Cueto (Reds) and Tyson Ross (Padres).

"Right-hander Jeff Samardzija was selected by the players, but he was replaced on the NL roster after being traded from the Cubs to the Athletics on Saturday.

"The NL bullpen will consist of Craig Kimbrel (Braves), Aroldis Chapman (Reds), Francisco Rodriguez (Brewers), Pat Neshek (Cardinals) and Tony Watson (Pirates).

"The AL reserves are catchers Kurt Suzuki (Twins) and Derek Norris (Athletics), first baseman Jose Abreu (White Sox), Edwin Encarnacion (Blue Jays) and Brandon Moss (Athletics), second baseman Jose Altuve (Astros), third baseman Adrian Beltre (Rangers), outfielders Michael Brantley (Indians), Yoenis Cespedes (Atheltics) and Alex Gordon (Royals) and DH Victor Martinez (Tigers).

"All the non-starters came from the player ballot except for Price, Scherzer, Perkins, Lester, Norris and Moss, who were manager selections in conjunction with MLB. Farrell also picked Suzuki to replace Wieters, and he will likely have to choose a replacement for Encarnacion, who had to leave Saturday's game with a strained quad.

"The NL reserves are catchers Jonathan Lucroy (Brewers) and Devin Mesoraco (Reds), first baseman Freddie Freeman (Braves), second baseman Dee Gordon (Dodgers) and Daniel Murphy (Mets), shortstop Starlin Castro (Cubs), third baseman Matt Carpenter (Cardinals) and Todd Frazier (Reds) and outfielders Charlie Blackmon (Rockies), Josh Harrison (Pirates), Hunter Pence (Giants) and Giancarlo Stanton (Marlins).

"Matheny's picks were Greinke, Ross, Zimmermann, Neshek, Watson, Mesoraco, Murphy, Carpenter and Harrison."

Cruz told ESPN he's happy to make the cut. He said,"It's always a blessing when you make the All-Star Game. I'm happy because I know I made the right decision (to sign in Baltimore)."

Jeter, who is playing in his last season, also chimed in, per ESPN. He said, "All-Star Game was in New York (Citi Field) last year. It's a little bit different. I don't got into it with any expectations. Just trying to enjoy myself and have fun with whoever is here."

The 85th Major League Baseball All-Star Game will be on July 15, 2014 at Target Field in Minneapolis, Minn.

For more of the hottest sports news, log on to Sport Balla today.

This story may contain affiliate links.


Find rare products online! Get the free Tracker App now.

Download the free Tracker app now to get in-stock alerts on Pomsies, Oculus Go, SNES Classic and more.

Latest News


The Author

Poch de la Rosa follows all major U.S. sports: NFL, MLB, NBA, NHL and the NCAA. His favorite teams are the Colts, Braves, Pacers, Sharks and Irish, respectively.




comments powered by Disqus