Robert Downey Jr. To Get MTV Generation Award From Avengers Cast

Posted: Apr 2 2015, 9:45am CDT | by , in Latest Movie News


This story may contain affiliate links.

Robert Downey Jr. to Get MTV Generation Award from Avengers Cast
Photo Credit: Getty Images

Chris Evans, Scarlett Johansson, Chris Hemsworth, Mark Ruffalo and Jeremy Renner to Present Award. The MTV Movie Awards will also be the venue of the exclusive Age of Ultron trailer.

MTV today announced that Robert Downey Jr. will receive the MTV Generation Award during the 2015 MTV Movie Awards that will air live on Sunday, April 12 at 8:00 p.m. ET/PT from Nokia Theater L.A. Live in Los Angeles, California.

Robert Downey Jr. will be presented the award by his Marvel’s Avengers: Age of Ultron co-stars Chris Evans, Scarlett Johansson, Chris Hemsworth, Mark Ruffalo and Jeremy Renner.

Age of Ultron will premiere on May 1, 2015 and fans will see the world premiere of an exclusive 90-second clip of Age of Ultron at the MTV Movie Awards.

“Throughout his career, Robert Downey Jr. has mesmerized audiences by capturing the humanity in larger-than-life characters like Charlie Chaplin, Sherlock Holmes and Tony Stark,” said Stephen Friedman, President of MTV. “He’s a brilliant actor and a Hollywood icon, and we are proud to recognize his tremendous passion and talent with this year’s Generation Award.”

The MTV Generation Award is the "Movie Awards" highest honor, acknowledging an actor who has engaged the MTV audience throughout their career. Past recipients include Mark Wahlberg, Jamie Foxx, Johnny Depp, Reese Witherspoon, Ben Stiller, Adam Sandler, Sandra Bullock, Mike Myers, Tom Cruise and Jim Carrey.

The MTV Movie Awards 2015 is hosted by Amy Schumer. Presenters at the Award show include Comedic Genius recipient Kevin Hart, Trailblazer Award recipient Shailene Woodley, Miles Teller, Reese Witherspoon, Vin Diesel, Sofia Vergara and Jimmy Kimmel. Additional presenters and performers will be announced.

Fans can begin voting today for the 2015 MTV Movie Awards Best Hero award, presented by Mtn Dew Kickstart, which will be voted entirely via social media hashtags. The nominees include:

Bilbo Baggins (The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies) - #VoteBilboMTV

Katniss Everdeen (The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1) - #VoteKatnissMTV

Star-Lord (Guardians of the Galaxy) - #VoteStarLordMTV

Thomas (The Maze Runner) - #VoteThomasMTV

Tris Prior (The Divergent Series: Insurgent) - #VoteTrisMTV

This year's “Movie Awards” nominees span every film genre from dystopian universes (The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1 and The Maze Runner) to heart-felt coming of age stories (The Fault In Our Stars and Boyhood), out-of-this-world comedies (Guardians of the Galaxy, Neighbors, The Interview, The Wedding Ringer and Top Five), real-life heroes (Selma and American Sniper) and more. Fans can cast their votes for their favorites athttp://www.MovieAwards.MTV.comthrough Saturday, April 11. Voting for "Movie of the Year" will continue throughout the live broadcast of the show.

This story may contain affiliate links.


Find rare products online! Get the free Tracker App now.

Download the free Tracker app now to get in-stock alerts on Pomsies, Oculus Go, SNES Classic and more.

Latest News


The Author

<a href="/latest_stories/all/all/2" rel="author">Luigi Lugmayr</a>
Manfred "Luigi" Lugmayr () is the founding Chief Editor of I4U News and brings over 25 years experience in the technology field to the ever evolving and exciting world of gadgets, tech and online shopping. He started I4U News back in 2000 and evolved it into vibrant technology news and tech and toy shopping hub.
Luigi can be contacted directly at ml[@]




comments powered by Disqus