William C. Campbell, Satoshi Ōmura And Youyou Tu Win Medicine Nobel Prize 2015

Posted: Oct 5 2015, 4:45am CDT | by , Updated: Oct 5 2015, 8:42pm CDT, in News | Latest Science News

William C. Campbell, Satoshi Ōmura and Youyou Tu win Medicine Nobel Prize 2015

The Nobel Committee has announced the 2015 Nobel Prize in Medicine today.

The Physiology or Medicine Nobel Prize 2015 has been split. One half of the 2015 Medicine Nobel Prize goes to William C. Campbell, Satoshi Ōmura. The other half has been awarded to Youyou Tu.

The Nobel Prize in Medicine 2015 was awarded to William C. Campbell and Satoshi Ōmura for their discoveries concerning a novel therapy against infections caused by roundworm parasites.

The other half goes to Youyou Tu for her discoveries concerning a novel therapy against Malaria.

The 2015 Medicine Nobel Prize goes to the United States, Japan and China.

This year the Nobel Community wanted to put the focus on researchers that fight diseases caused by parasites. These diseases have plagued humankind for millennia and constitute a major global health problem. In particular, parasitic diseases affect the world’s poorest populations and represent a huge barrier to improving human health and wellbeing.

This year’s Nobel Laureates have developed therapies that have revolutionized the treatment of some of the most devastating parasitic diseases.

William C. Campbell is at the Drew University, Madison, NJ, USA, bringing a Medicine Nobel Prize to the United States. Here are the details so far about William C. Campell.

Satoshi Ōmura is at the Kitasato University in Japan.

Youyou Tu is at the China Academy of Traditional Chinese Medicine in China, taking home a Nobel Prize for China.

For the 2015 Medicine Nobel Prize the Nobel Foundation nominated 327 scientists. Among them are 57 researchers who are nominated the first time. The Medicine or Physiology Nobel Prize has been awarded to 207 scientists since 1901.

The 2014 Medicine Nobel Prize was awarded to was divided, one half awarded to John O'Keefe, the other half jointly to May-Britt Moser and Edvard I. Moser "for their discoveries of cells that constitute a positioning system in the brain". There have been 105 Nobel Prizes in Medicine awarded to 207 laureates over the history of the most prestigious science award.

The Medicine Nobel Prize 2015 has been announced by Urban Lendahl, Secretary of the Nobel Committee for Physiology or Medicine on October 5, 2015. He made the announcement at the Nobel Assembly at Karolinska Institutet, Nobels väg 1, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm.

Tomorrow, October 6, the 2015 Physics Nobel Prize will be announced at 11:45am CET.

This story may contain affiliate links.


Find rare products online! Get the free Tracker App now.

Download the free Tracker app now to get in-stock alerts on Pomsies, Oculus Go, SNES Classic and more.

Latest News


The Author

<a href="/latest_stories/all/all/2" rel="author">Luigi Lugmayr</a>
Manfred "Luigi" Lugmayr () is the founding Chief Editor of I4U News and brings over 25 years experience in the technology field to the ever evolving and exciting world of gadgets, tech and online shopping. He started I4U News back in 2000 and evolved it into vibrant technology news and tech and toy shopping hub.
Luigi can be contacted directly at ml[@]i4u.com.




comments powered by Disqus