Takaaki Kajita And Arthur B. McDonald Win 2015 Physics Nobel Prize

Posted: Oct 6 2015, 9:20pm CDT | by , in Latest Science News


This story may contain affiliate links.

Takaaki Kajita and Arthur B. McDonald win 2015 Physics Nobel Prize
Photo Credit: Getty Images

It is Nobel Prize week again. Starting Monday, the Nobel Foundation started announcing the Nobel Prize winners of 2015.

The Nobel Committee announced the 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics. Göran K. Hansson, Permanent Secretary of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced Takaaki Kajita and Arthur B. McDonald as the winner of the 2015 Physics Nobel Prize.

Takaaki Kajita at Super-Kamiokande Collaboration, University of Tokyo, Kashiwa, Japan and Arthur B. McDonald Sudbury Neutrino Observatory Collaboration,Queen’s University, Kingston, Canada got the Nobel Prize in Physics 2015 or the discovery of neutrino oscillations, which shows that neutrinos have mass.

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2015 recognises Takaaki Kajita in Japan and Arthur B. McDonald in Canada, for their key contributions to the experiments which demonstrated that neutrinos change identities. This metamorphosis requires that neutrinos have mass. The discovery has changed our understanding of the innermost workings of matter and can prove crucial to our view of the universe.

Last year, the Physics Nobel Prize went to Isamu Akasaki, Meijo University, Nagoya, Japan and Nagoya University, Japan, Hiroshi Amano, Nagoya University, Japan and Shuji Nakamura, University of California, Santa Barbara, CA, USA for the invention of efficient blue light-emitting diodes (LEDs) which has enabled bright and energy-saving white light sources. This was for a change research that is close to a technology that consumers use everyday and not some high flying particle physics stuff.

The Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded 108 times to 199 Nobel Laureates between 1901 and 2014. John Bardeen is the only Nobel Laureate who has been awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics twice, in 1956 and 1972. This means that a total of 198 individuals have received the Nobel Prize in Physics.

Yesterday the 2015 Medicine Nobel Prize has been awarded to William C. Campbell, Satoshi Ōmura and Youyou Tu.

Upcoming Nobel Prize 2015 Schedule

CHEMISTRY - Wednesday 7 October, 11:45 a.m. at the earliest

LITERATURE - October 8, 13:00 a.m.

PEACE - Friday 9 October, 11:00 a.m.

ECONOMIC SCIENCES - Monday 12 October, 1:00 p.m. at the earliest

The Nobel Prize has been awarded since 1901. The Nobel Prize has been honoring men and women from all corners of the globe for outstanding achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature, and for work in peace. In 1895 Alfred Nobel wrote his last will, leaving much of his wealth to the establishment of the Nobel Prize. Nobel is the inventor of dynamite and holder of 355 patents. He was born in 1833 and died 1896.

This story may contain affiliate links.


Find rare products online! Get the free Tracker App now.

Download the free Tracker app now to get in-stock alerts on Pomsies, Oculus Go, SNES Classic and more.

Latest News


The Author

<a href="/latest_stories/all/all/2" rel="author">Luigi Lugmayr</a>
Manfred "Luigi" Lugmayr () is the founding Chief Editor of I4U News and brings over 25 years experience in the technology field to the ever evolving and exciting world of gadgets, tech and online shopping. He started I4U News back in 2000 and evolved it into vibrant technology news and tech and toy shopping hub.
Luigi can be contacted directly at ml[@]i4u.com.




comments powered by Disqus