Nobel Prize 2015 In Chemistry Awarded To Tomas Lindahl, Paul Modrich And Aziz Sancar

Posted: Oct 7 2015, 4:55pm CDT | by , in News | Latest Science News

Nobel Prize 2015 in Chemistry Awarded to Lindahl, Modrich and Sancar
Photo Credit: Getty Images

Today the Nobel Prize 2015 in Chemistry has been announced.

The Nobel Committee announced the Nobel Prize 2015 in Chemistry. The winner of the 2015 Chemistry Nobel Prize are Tomas Lindahl, Paul Modrich and Aziz Sancar.

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2015 is awarded to Tomas Lindahl, Paul Modrich and Aziz Sancar for having mapped, at a molecular level, how cells repair damaged DNA and safeguard the genetic information. Their work has provided fundamental knowledge of how a living cell functions and is, for instance, used for the development of new cancer treatments.

Tomas Lindahl is a Swedish citizen and was born in 1938 in Stockholm. Lindahl earned a Ph.D. in 1967 from Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden. He was the professor of Medical and Physiological Chemistry at the University of Gothenburg from 1978–82. Lindahl was also Emeritus group leader at the Francis Crick Institute and Emeritus director of Cancer Research UK at Clare Hall Laboratory, Hertfordshire, UK.

Paul Modrich is a U.S. citizen who was born in 1946. Modrich has Ph.D. which was earned in 1973 from Stanford University, Stanford, CA, USA. He is an Investigator at Howard Hughes Medical Institute and James B. Duke Professor of Biochemistry at Duke University School of Medicine, Durham, NC, USA.

Aziz Sancar is both a U.S. and Turkish citizen who was born in 1946 in Savur, Turkey. Sancar has a Ph.D. earned in 1977 from the University of Texas, Dallas, TX, USA. Sarah Graham Kenan Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics, University of North Carolina School of Medicine, Chapel Hill, NC, USA.Göran K. Hansson, Permanent Secretary of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has revealed the winner of the Nobel Prize 2015 in Chemistry at 11:45am CET in Stockholm.

The science of chemistry was the most important to Alfred Nobel’s own work. The development of his inventions as well as the industrial processes he employed were based upon chemical knowledge. Chemistry was the second prize area that Nobel mentioned in his will. 106 Nobel Prizes in Chemistry have been awarded since 1901.

Last year the Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded jointly to Eric Betzig, Stefan W. Hell and William E. Moerner for the development of super-resolved fluorescence microscopy.

So far the 2015 Medicine Nobel Prize has been awarded to William C. Campbell, Satoshi Ōmura and Youyou Tu. Takaaki Kajita and Arthur B. McDonald have won 2015 Physics Nobel Prize.

Nobel Prize 2015 Schedule

CHEMISTRY - Wednesday 7 October, 11:45 a.m. at the earliest

LITERATURE - October 8, 13:00 a.m.

PEACE - Friday 9 October, 11:00 a.m.

ECONOMIC SCIENCES - Monday 12 October, 1:00 p.m. at the earliest

The Nobel Prize has been awarded since 1901. The Nobel Prize has been honoring men and women from all corners of the globe for outstanding achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature, and for work in peace. In 1895 Alfred Nobel wrote his last will, leaving much of his wealth to the establishment of the Nobel Prize. Nobel is the inventor of dynamite and holder of 355 patents. He was born in 1833 and died 1896.

This story may contain affiliate links.


Find rare products online! Get the free Tracker App now.

Download the free Tracker app now to get in-stock alerts on Pomsies, Oculus Go, SNES Classic and more.

Latest News


The Author

<a href="/latest_stories/all/all/2" rel="author">Luigi Lugmayr</a>
Manfred "Luigi" Lugmayr () is the founding Chief Editor of I4U News and brings over 25 years experience in the technology field to the ever evolving and exciting world of gadgets, tech and online shopping. He started I4U News back in 2000 and evolved it into vibrant technology news and tech and toy shopping hub.
Luigi can be contacted directly at ml[@]




comments powered by Disqus