2015 Nobel Prize In Literature Announcement Is At 1pm CET Today

Posted: Oct 8 2015, 3:56am CDT | by , Updated: Oct 8 2015, 10:10pm CDT, in News | Latest Science News

2015 Nobel Prize in Literature Announcement is at 1pm CET Today
Photo Credit: Getty Images

Don't Miss: This How to find Fingerlings in Stock

Since Monday, the Nobel Foundation has been announcing the Nobel Prize winners of 2015. Today the Nobel Prize 2015 in Literature will be announced.

The Nobel Committee will announce the Nobel Prize 2015 in Literature today at 1pm CET in Stockholm. The prize will be announced by Sara Danius, Permanent Secretary of the Swedish Academy. 106 Nobel Prizes in Chemistry have been awarded since 1901. The Nobel Prize in Literature has been handed out 107 times to 111 Nobel Laureates between 1901 and 2014.


The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2015 is awarded to the Belarusian author Svetlana Alexievich.

There are many names of authors in discussions about who will win the 2015 Nobel Prize in Literature. Names that get thrown around include Peter Handke, Svetlana Alexievich, Joyce Carol Oates, Haruki Murakami, Philip Roth and Salman Rushdie.

American authors did not get an Nobel Prize in Literature since 1993, when Toni Morrison got the highest honor in Literature.

In 2014 the Nobel Prize in Literature went to Patrick Modiano for the art of memory with which he has evoked the most ungraspable human destinies and uncovered the life-world of the occupation.

The announcement of the 2015 Nobel Prize in Literature will be streamed live online on the Nobel Prize site. If the Youtube player does not work, use the link to the Flash Player. This has worked for me in the past days.

The 2015 Peace Nobel Prize will close out this week of Nobel Prizes. On Monday is an encore with the announcement of the Nobel Prize in Economic sciences.

Nobel Prize 2015 Schedule

LITERATURE - October 8, 1:00 p.m.

PEACE - Friday 9 October, 11:00 a.m.

ECONOMIC SCIENCES - Monday 12 October, 1:00 p.m. at the earliest

The Nobel Prize is awarded since 1901. the Nobel Prize has been honoring men and women from all corners of the globe for outstanding achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature, and for work in peace. In 1895 Alfred Nobel wrote his last will, leaving much of his wealth to the establishment of the Nobel Prize. Nobel is the inventor of dynamite and holder of 355 patents. He was born in 1833 and died 1896.

Holiday Gift Guides and Deals

Get your Holiday gifting inspired by Best Toy Gifts with High STEM Value and the Top 10 toy gifts under $10 if you are on budget. The most popular Holiday 2017 toy list include Fingerlings, Crate Creatures and more. Don't miss the new Holiday deals on Amazon Devices, including $29.99 Fire tablet.

This story may contain affiliate links.

This free App Solves You Holiday Shopping Problem

Download the free Tracker app now to get in-stock alerts on Fingerling, Luvabella, SNES Classic and more.

Latest News


The Author

<a href="/latest_stories/all/all/2" rel="author">Luigi Lugmayr</a>
Luigi Lugmayr () is the founding chief Editor of I4U News and brings over 15 years experience in the technology field to the ever evolving and exciting world of gadgets. He started I4U News back in 2000 and evolved it into vibrant technology magazine.
Luigi can be contacted directly at ml@i4u.com.




comments powered by Disqus