Highlights Of Some Meteor Showers Bound To Occur In 2016

Posted: Jan 4 2016, 10:35am CST | by , in News | Latest Science News

 
Meteor showers
Photo credit: Getty Images

Don't Miss: This How to find Fingerlings in Stock

People all over the world love watching meteor showers, but unfortunately not everyone everywhere can witness one or see it with the same splendor and glory with which others in other parts of the world see it - The Conversation reports.

Meteor shower is a transient shower of meteors when a meteor swarm enters the earth’s atmosphere. It is also caused when Earth passes through several debris created in the wakes of comets and asteroids. It presents a great celestial display at night when the moon is not in sight, and the seeming fireworks and gas flares keep enthusiasts riveted to watching the night sky for showers of various intensity and duration.

The first meteor shower that will occur in 2016 is the Quadrantids – occurring between December 28, 2015 to January 12, 2016 but it will be at its most active on January 4 this year at 8 a.m UT, or 3 a.m EST at the US East Coast or 12 a.m PST at the US West Coast.

The Eta Aquariids will occur between April 19 to May 28 this year, but it will be at its peak on May 5 by 8 p.m UT or 6 a.m AEST or 3 a.m AWST on May 6, 2016.

The Piscis Austrinids, Southern Delta Aquariids and Alpha Capricornids will occur in the middle of the northern hemisphere summer between July 28 to 30, 2016 around 12 a.m local time. Each of the showers to be seen will be around 20-30 meteors per hour. They can be seen all through the night, but midnight local time is the best time for watching these meteor showers.

People in the northern hemisphere will be able to view the Perseids between July 17 to August 24, 2016 but its peak moment will be August 12 between 1-4 p.m UT, or 9 a.m -12 p.m for East Coast US, or 6 a.m to 9 a.m PDT at US West Coast, or 10 p.m to 1 a.m on August 13 JST in Japan.

There is the Ursids occurring between December 17-26, 2016 with its peak getting seen on December 22 at 9 a.m UT, or 4 a.m EST to those in East Coast US, or 1 a.m PST to people in West Coast US, or 6 p.m JST to watchers in Japan.

Holiday Gift Guides and Deals

Get your Holiday gifting inspired by Best Toy Gifts with High STEM Value and the Top 10 toy gifts under $10 if you are on budget. The most popular Holiday 2017 toy list include Fingerlings, Crate Creatures and more. Don't miss the new Holiday deals on Amazon Devices, including $29.99 Fire tablet.

This story may contain affiliate links.

This free App Solves You Holiday Shopping Problem


Download the free Tracker app now to get in-stock alerts on Fingerling, Luvabella, SNES Classic and more.

Latest News

Comments

The Author

<a href="/latest_stories/all/all/52" rel="author">Charles I. Omedo</a>
Charles is covering the latest discoveries in science and health as well as new developments in technology. He is the Chief Editor or Intel-News.

 

 

Advertisement

comments powered by Disqus