2016 Nobel Prize: Nobel Prize 2016 In Physiology Or Medicine

Posted: Oct 3 2016, 4:33am CDT | by , Updated: Oct 3 2016, 5:23am CDT, in News | Latest Science News


Nobel Prize 2016: This Is the 2016 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine
Credit: Nobel Prize

It is Nobel Prize 2016 week. The announcements of the 2016 Nobel Prizes kick off Monday in Stockholm. Update: The 2016 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine to Yoshinori Ohsumi.

Breaking: The 2016 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine to Yoshinori Ohsumi.

Starting Monday, October 3, the Nobel Foundation is announcing the 2016 Nobel Laureates. The first Nobel Prize announcement is today at 11:30am CET (6:30am ET). It is the 2016 Medicine Nobel Prize (or Physiology Nobel Prize).

273 scientists have been nominated for the 2016 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. The Nobel Prize organization is pretty good at keeping the Nobel Prize winners a secret until the announcement. At this point we do not know who won the 2016 Nobel Prize in Medicine or Physiology. At 9 am, the Nobel Assembly with its 50 members choose the 2016 Nobel Prize Medicine through a majority vote. 

Watch the live stream to find out who won at 11:30am CET. This report will also be updated as soon as the announcement is made. There will also be background information on the winning scientist or scientists.

The Medicine or Physiology Nobel Prize has been awarded to 106 scientists since 1901. The youngest Medicine Laureate ever, Frederick G. Banting, who was awarded the 1923 Medicine Prize for the discovery of insulin.

The Medicine Nobel Prize 2015 was split. One half of the 2015 Medicine Nobel Prize went to William C. Campbell, Satoshi ┼îmura. The other half has been awarded to Youyou Tu. 

On 27 November 1895, Alfred Nobel signed his last will and testament, giving the largest share of his fortune to a series of prizes, the Nobel Prizes. As described in Nobel's will, one part was dedicated to "the person who shall have made the most important discovery within the domain of physiology or medicine". 

Watch the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2016 announcement live in the Youtube live stream linked below. The video has a countdown timer so you know exactly when it is time to tune into the live stream from Stockholm.

Click here to watch the Live Video Stream (new window).

The Nobel Prize 2016 winners get about $1 million (8,000,000 SEK) for a full Nobel Prize. The prize money comes from the earnings of the Nobel investment fund and fluctuates depending on the earnings.

Nobel Prize 2016 Announcement Schedule

The 2016 Nobel Prize announcements are spread out over the next days. The most controversial each year is the Peace Nobel Prize. It was not that controversial last year, setting the stage for a controversial pick this year. The Nobel Peace Prize 2015 was awarded to National Dialogue Quartet "for its decisive contribution to the building of a pluralistic democracy in Tunisia in the wake of the Jasmine Revolution of 2011".

The 2016 Peace Nobel Prize will be announced on Friday. Below is the complete schedule so you do not miss any of the live Nobel Prize reveals. 

2016 Nobel Prize in Physics:

Tuesday 4 October, 11:45 a.m. at the earliest

2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry:

Wednesday 5 October, 11:45 a.m. at the earliest

Peace Nobel Prize 2016:

Friday 7 October, 11:00 a.m.

2016 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences:

Monday 10 October, 11:45 a.m. at the earliest

2016 Nobel Prize in Literature:

The date will be set later

The Nobel Prize Winners of 2015

Find below the Nobel Prize winners of 2015 as a reference.

Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2015

Winner: William C. Campbell and Satoshi ┼îmura

Achievement: for their discoveries concerning a novel therapy against infections caused by roundworm parasites

Winner: Youyou Tu

Achievement: for her discoveries concerning a novel therapy against Malaria

Nobel Prize in Physics 2015

Winner: Takaaki Kajita and Arthur B. McDonald

Achievement: for the discovery of neutrino oscillations, which shows that neutrinos have mass

Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2015

Winner: Tomas Lindahl, Paul Modrich and Aziz Sancar

Achievement: for mechanistic studies of DNA repair

Nobel Prize in Literature 2015

Winner: Svetlana Alexievich

Achievement: for her polyphonic writings, a monument to suffering and courage in our time

Nobel Peace Prize 2015

Winner: National Dialogue Quartet

Achievement: for its decisive contribution to the building of a pluralistic democracy in Tunisia in the wake of the Jasmine Revolution of 2011

Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2015

Winner: Angus Deaton

Achievement: for his analysis of consumption, poverty, and welfare

The Nobel Prize is still the most prestigious award a scientist can hope to win. The $1 million Nobel prize money is nice, but the call yourself a Nobel Prize winner is maybe even more worth than getting knighted by the Queen of England.

This story may contain affiliate links.


The Author

<a href="/latest_stories/all/all/2" rel="author">Luigi Lugmayr</a>
Luigi Lugmayr () is the founding chief Editor of I4U News and brings over 15 years experience in the technology field to the ever evolving and exciting world of gadgets. He started I4U News back in 2000 and evolved it into vibrant technology magazine.
Luigi can be contacted directly at ml@i4u.com.




comments powered by Disqus