Physics Nobel Prize 2016: Announcement, Stream, Winner And Everything You Need To Know

Posted: Oct 4 2016, 2:27am CDT | by , Updated: Oct 4 2016, 4:51am CDT, in News | Technology News

Physics Nobel Prize 2016: Announcement, Stream, Winner and Everything You Need To Know
Photo Credit: Nobel Prize

The 2016 Physics Nobel Prize is the 110th Physics Prize to be announced today in the history of the Nobel Prize.

The 2016 Nobel Prize announcement week continues with the 2016 Physics Nobel Prize on Tuesday, October 4. On Monday Japanese scientist Yoshinori Ohsumi won the 2016 Nobel Prize in Medicine for his research on cancer cells.


The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics 2016 with one half to

David J. Thouless

University of Washington, Seattle, WA, USA

and the other half to

F. Duncan M. Haldane

Princeton University, NJ, USA


J. Michael Kosterlitz

Brown University, Providence, RI, USA

for theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter.

The Physics Nobel Prize 2016 will be announced at 11:45am CET (6:45am ET) in Sweden by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. Physics was the prize area which Alfred Nobel mentioned first in his will. Today's recipient of the Physics Nobel Prize will be the 110th scientist in the history of the prize.

The Royal Swedish Academy members are gathering at 9am local time to select the Physics Nobel Prize winner through a majority vote.

Takaaki Kajita and Arthur B. McDonald as the winner of the Physics Nobel Prize in 2015 for their discovery of neutrino oscillations, which shows that neutrinos have mass.

Watch the Physics Nobel Prize 2016 Announcement Live.

The Nobel Prize live stream features a countdown timer. Just leave the window with the Youtube player open. If you want to know who will win the Physics Nobel Prize 2016 you need to check the Facebook page of the Nobel Prize. Yesterday, the announcement of the winner was live on Facebook before the announcement was made in the Youtube live stream.

Physics is a very wide field, making it very hard to predict which of the nominated scientists will come out as the winner of the 2016 Nobel Prize today.

One candidate that is mentioned by experts and is also listed in Thompson Reuter's citation based Nobel Prize prediction is Rainer Weiss Professor of Physics Emeritus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology for his development of the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO) that made possible the detection of gravitational waves. Gravitational waves made a big splash in the science world and would be worth a Nobel Prize.

The 2016 Nobel Laureate in Physics will join the ranks of famous winners of the prize including Albert Einstein, Niels Bohr, Marie Curie, James Chadwick, J.J. Thomson and Erwin Schroedinger. Physics Nobel Prize winners are the youngest of all laureates with an average age of 55. This means they have the most life time left to spend the $1 million.

Nobel Prize 2016 Announcement Schedule

The 2016 Nobel Prize announcements are spread out over the next days. The 2016 Peace Nobel Prize will be announced on Friday. Below is the complete schedule so you do not miss any of the live Nobel Prize announcements.

2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry:

Wednesday 5 October, 11:45 a.m. at the earliest

Peace Nobel Prize 2016:

Friday 7 October, 11:00 a.m.

2016 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences:

Monday 10 October, 11:45 a.m. at the earliest

2016 Nobel Prize in Literature:

The date will be set later

The Nobel Prize Winners of 2015

Find below the Nobel Prize winners of 2015 as a reference.

Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2015

Winner: William C. Campbell and Satoshi Ōmura

Achievement: for their discoveries concerning a novel therapy against infections caused by roundworm parasites

Winner: Youyou Tu

Achievement: for her discoveries concerning a novel therapy against Malaria

Nobel Prize in Physics 2015

Winner: Takaaki Kajita and Arthur B. McDonald

Achievement: for the discovery of neutrino oscillations, which shows that neutrinos have mass

Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2015

Winner: Tomas Lindahl, Paul Modrich and Aziz Sancar

Achievement: for mechanistic studies of DNA repair

Nobel Prize in Literature 2015

Winner: Svetlana Alexievich

Achievement: for her polyphonic writings, a monument to suffering and courage in our time

Nobel Peace Prize 2015

Winner: National Dialogue Quartet

Achievement: for its decisive contribution to the building of a pluralistic democracy in Tunisia in the wake of the Jasmine Revolution of 2011

Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2015

Winner: Angus Deaton

Achievement: for his analysis of consumption, poverty, and welfare

The Nobel Prize is still the most prestigious award a scientist can hope to win. The $1 million Nobel prize money is nice, but the call yourself a Nobel Prize winner is maybe even more worth than getting knighted by the Queen of England.

This story may contain affiliate links.


Find rare products online! Get the free Tracker App now.

Download the free Tracker app now to get in-stock alerts on Pomsies, Oculus Go, SNES Classic and more.

Latest News


The Author

<a href="/latest_stories/all/all/2" rel="author">Luigi Lugmayr</a>
Manfred "Luigi" Lugmayr () is the founding Chief Editor of I4U News and brings over 25 years experience in the technology field to the ever evolving and exciting world of gadgets, tech and online shopping. He started I4U News back in 2000 and evolved it into vibrant technology news and tech and toy shopping hub.
Luigi can be contacted directly at ml[@]




comments powered by Disqus