Nobel Prize In Chemistry Won By Trio For World's Smallest Machines

Posted: Oct 5 2016, 9:31am CDT | by , Updated: Oct 5 2016, 9:37am CDT , in Latest Science News


This story may contain affiliate links.

Nobel Prize in Chemistry Won by Trio for World's Smallest Machines
  • 3 Scientists Win the Chemistry Nobel Prize for Making World's Smallest Molecular Machines

3 scientist, Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Sir J. Fraser Stoddart, and Bernard L. Feringa, win the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2016 for the design and synthesis of molecular machines. They developed the world's smallest machines

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences recently gave out the Nobel Prizes to deserving scientists, physicians, researchers and other accomplished professionals for their innovative work in their respective fields.

The recipients for the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2016 were also named. This trio included, Jean-Pierre Sauvage of the University of Strasbourg, France; Sir J. Fraser Stoddart of Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, USA; and Bernard L. Feringa of the University of Groningen, the Netherlands for their work in design and synthesis of molecular machines.

In simple terms, these men made the world’s smallest machines. These machines that they have developed molecules with controllable movements, which can perform a task when energy is added.

These Nobel Prize recipients have miniaturised machines and taken chemistry to a new dimension. According to the scientists, the development of computing demonstrates how the miniaturisation of technology can lead to a revolution.

Jean-Pierre Sauvage took the initiative in 1983 when he succeeded in linking two ring-shaped molecules together to form a chain, called a catenane. The catenane he formulated was linked by a freer mechanical bond.

For any machine to perform a task it must consist of parts that can move relative to each other. Sauvage’s machine fulfilled these requirements.

Fraser Stoddart took the next step in 1991 when threaded a molecular ring onto a thin molecular axle and demonstrated that the ring was able to move along the axle.

The first person to develop a molecular motor was Bernard Feringa in 1999. He got a molecular rotor blade to spin continually in the same direction. Using molecular motors, he has rotated a glass cylinder that is 10,000 times bigger than the motor and also designed a nano-car.

Molecular machines will most likely be used in the development of things such as new materials, sensors and energy storage systems.

According to Nobel Foundation,

Jean-Pierre Sauvage, born 1944 in Paris, France. Ph.D. 1971 from the University of Strasbourg, France. Professor Emeritus at the University of Strasbourg and Director of Research Emeritus at the National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS), France.

Sir J. Fraser Stoddart, born 1942 in Edinburgh, UK. Ph.D. 1966 from Edinburgh University, UK. Board of Trustees Professor of Chemistry at Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, USA.

Bernard L. Feringa, born 1951 in Barger-Compascuum, the Netherlands. Ph.D.1978 from the University of Groningen, the Netherlands. Professor in Organic Chemistry at the University of Groningen, the Netherlands.

2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry prize amount is 8 million Swedish krona. And these 3 winners will equally share this amount.

This story may contain affiliate links.


Find rare products online! Get the free Tracker App now.

Download the free Tracker app now to get in-stock alerts on Pomsies, Oculus Go, SNES Classic and more.

Latest News


The Author

<a href="/latest_stories/all/all/20" rel="author">Sumayah Aamir</a>
Sumayah Aamir (Google+) has deep experience in analyzing the latest trends.




comments powered by Disqus