Why Are There 18 Standards For HDTV?

Posted: Feb 11 2005, 1:17am EST | by , Updated: Aug 10 2010, 3:29pm CDT, in News | Other Stuff


Why are there 18 standards for HDTV?
/* Story Top Left 2010 300x250, created 7/15/10 */ google_ad_slot = "8340327155";

Engadget has an interesting column answering the question why there are actually 18 standards for HDTV.

"First, to be technical, there are eighteen different ‘ATSC DTV (digital television) formats’ of which only six are actually High-Definition. Of the six HDTV formats only two are used frequently, 720p and 1080i. That doesn’t really answer the question, but it narrows the field down a bit and gives us something to work with. "
Read the more on Engadget.

Buy the bestselling Flat Screen HDTV!

This story may contain affiliate links.


The Author

<a href="/latest_stories/all/all/2" rel="author">Luigi Lugmayr</a>
Luigi Lugmayr () is the founding chief Editor of I4U News and brings over 15 years experience in the technology field to the ever evolving and exciting world of gadgets. He started I4U News back in 2000 and evolved it into vibrant technology magazine.
Luigi can be contacted directly at ml@i4u.com.




comments powered by Disqus