New Gmail Feature Lets Anyone From Google+ Email You By Default

Posted: Jan 10 2014, 9:43am CST | by , in News | Technology News


New Gmail feature lets anyone from Google+ email you by default
/* Story Top Left 2010 300x250, created 7/15/10 */ google_ad_slot = "8340327155";

New Gmail feature could mean mail from strange people

Google has announced a new feature that much more closely ties Google+ into the mix for Gmail users. The new feature allows anyone from Google+ to email you whether or not you have mailed them or given them your address.

If you are some sort of public figure or people don’t like you for some reason, I can imagine the deluge of mail coming your way. The Gmail feature appears when a user begins to type into the "To" box on the Gmail client reports TechCrunch.

You will get the normal pop ups for people who you have in contacts or have emailed before. However, you will also see people on Google+ pop up as well. The setting it apparently on by default so if this bothers you, you will need to turn it off.

There are options for stopping Google+ users from emailing you. One of the settings won't let anyone from Google+ email you, unless you email them first or give them your address. The other will allow people in your circles, one allows people in extended circles, and one will allow everyone to email you. Google does note that your email address isn't exposed to the Google+ user unless you send them an email.

You May Like


The Author

<a href="/latest_stories/all/all/3" rel="author">Shane McGlaun</a>
Leading our review center, Shane McGlaun (Google) knows technology inside out. His extensive experience in testing computer hardware and consumer electronics enable him to effectively qualify new products and trends. If you want us review your product, please contact Shane.
Shane can be contacted directly at




Leave a Comment

Share this Story

Follow Us
Follow I4U News on Twitter
Follow I4U News on Facebook

You Also Like


Read the Latest from I4U News