Google Now Allows You To Unsend Emails

Posted: Jun 23 2015, 11:10am CDT | by , in News | Technology News


Google Now Allows You To Unsend Emails
Photo Credit: Google

If you've ever accidentally sent an email to one of your coworkers or friends that embarrassed you, you will definitely wish that you had this feature. Google has now made a change that many have been clamoring for: they are offering an "unsend" function. However, you do have to be quick to take advantage of the option: you only have 5-30 seconds to make the decision to unsend them.

Many people are having trouble seeing the feature, and that is because the user actually has to go in and mark that this feature should be activated. 

According to Google, first you click on the Gmail gear on the top right and choose settings. On the general tab, scroll down to "Undo Send." Check the box and set your cancellation period from 5 to 30 seconds. Then make sure you scroll to the bottom and click on save changes. Once it sends, an option will appear to undo send. Click that if you would like to recall the email. You get to personalize it a little just like you can with some of the other functions like categories, favorites, and stars.

One of the funniest things is that Google has been developing this technology since 2009 - so many of those embarassing chain emails that you replied to could have been recalled quite easily.

The new function is also said to work with the Inbox app that Google introduced last month.

You May Like


The Author

<a href="/latest_stories/all/all/46" rel="author">Noel Diem</a>
Noel passion is to write about geek culture.




Leave a Comment

Share this Story

Follow Us
Follow I4U News on Twitter
Follow I4U News on Facebook

You Also Like


Read the Latest from I4U News