The feature in the Uber app had proved to be an issue as it made sensitive data accessible through Google.
A new tweak has been announced by Uber. The tweak was carried out in one of the features of the Uber app. Previously the feature ‘Share your ETA’ allowed sensitive trip data to be publicly accessible.
The data could be accessed through Google. The feature let customers to share their ETA with friends and family during a trip. The ETA was sent through an SMS. The text sent included links to a map showing the location of the traveller throughout the ride.
On Thursday it was found out by ZDNet that there is a glitch in the feature. The private info of many Uber customers could be accessed through Google. By searching for trip.uber.com, links to dozens of the maps could be found on search engines.
The link sites also included the source code and the exact addresses of the pick-up and destination. Other information also accessible through the sites was the car and license plate of the driver and the exact date and time of the ride.
The links were publicly accessible since they had been shared online on social media by the people who had received them. Now riders can still receive the links but they will expire after 48 hours. The new development was announced by Joe Sullivan the chief security officer of Uber on Twitter.
Don't Miss: See the first leaked Black Friday 2016 Ad
Already the change is instantaneous since links to many sites have expired. Uber had been subjected to criticisms over privacy and its user data policies before. But it seems Uber acted quickly this time around.